Rundbrief second generation “anchors” are being lost: the third generation now needs to step up

I previously described the Rundbrief, that is, the round-robin letter (actual, physical packet of letters on paper, as opposed to e-) that has made its way around North America among my Dad’s generation—the second generation born on this continent to the original immigrants from the Ukraine of the Krause-Dirks line such as my grandmother (“Oma”) Mary Dirks Janzen—and in recent years, also interested cousins/second cousins of the third generation, such as me.

Two of the biggest cheerleaders of keeping such a correspondence going among the extended family, back in the 1980s, were Dad and his cousin “Reck.” They took much of the initiative to stir up interest among their cousins in the U.S. and Canada. It so happens that in the established circular route of the packet, Reck is the one who sends it on to me from his winter home in Florida. He always e-mails me to let me know the snail mails are on their way!

Let’s back up for a moment, for a kind of sequel to The Batum Story. Great-grandparents Heinrich and Agatha (Krause) Dirks and their three children Heinz, Mary, and Katja landed in Manhattan in 1923. A couple of Agatha’s older children by her previous marriage to the late Kornelius Krause came over at the same time, and the rest eventually followed.

The three youngest children, all in their late teens, worked off their passage for their sponsors in eastern Pennsylvania, then rejoined their parents in Manhattan. Oma Mary married Peter Janzen in 1924; Katja married Herman Niebuhr, a fellow immigrant of the same background, in 1926. Eventually, Peter and Mary, and Herman and Katja, ended up living in the same apartment building in Harlem. Reck N., born 1926, and my Dad Heinz J., born 1927, along with his sister and brother, played together as toddlers until the Janzen family moved west circa 1930.

Well Dad and Reck, although taking very different career paths and having different views on maintaining the family religious tradition, were in many ways two of a kind: that is, both deep thinkers with apparently genius-level IQs and both very concerned with social issues and the betterment of humankind. Dad took the route of theology; Reck that of psychology, eventually becoming an administrator at Temple for a time.

We lost Dad in June 2011. After Reck and I exchanged many letters over a period of close to ten years, not just Rundbrief letters but many personal e-mails back and forth, I and the rest of the family learned last week from his daughters that Reck had suffered a severe stroke and could no longer talk or swallow; his children kept vigil with him as I and my family did with Dad in June. This situation could not but remind me of Dad’s situation, where he also could not swallow the last 10 days of his life, and caregivers could only give him water via a small sponge dipped in a glass and he became skin and bones.

Last evening, I learned that Reck died. His wife died of complications of Alzheimer’s a little over four months ago and the day (we think) that he had the stroke, he e-mailed my aunt to say he was lonely and wished he had someone to talk to. It may seem strange to those outside the family that I feel such sadness at the death of my father’s cousin, who I don’t recollect meeting face-to-face (although I may have in Philadelphia as a middle schooler when his mother, my Oma, and their half-sister Agatha had a reunion), but it does hit hard.

Please let us of the third generation not lose touch and let us continue our connections to the extended family!

7 responses to “Rundbrief second generation “anchors” are being lost: the third generation now needs to step up

  1. I am saddened by the death of Reck even though I like you only met him that time in Philly. I have been noting the many recent messages transferred through Metta’s emails and the rundbrief. I feel an emotional attachement because of this.
    Margie

  2. Reck was one of two people who had encouraged me to acquire a computer. Before that he would write snailmail letters to me. Once I’d actually acquired my own computer and learned to operate it, I began to enjoy frequent e-mails from Reck, each of which I answered. Now that he’s no longer sending those, I miss them terribly!

  3. I can’t grasp that Reck will not have a letter in the next letter round! His insight into getting the next generation of cousins to keep the Rundbrief going was a gift. I wasn’t there but, I learned that the Rundbrief reunion in Kansas organized by Heinz was a delight–I’m imagining another reunion for the next generation one day.

    • Pam, yes it seems very surreal to me, too, that I won’t get that e-mail from him or enjoy his wit and insights into society. Ten months later, it is also so strange not to expect updates from Dad. When you organize the next reunion, I will totally attend!

  4. Im so glad to have came across these documents!

    Hello everyone ! I am Brianne(27), Granddaughter of Meta Gorham, great granddaughter of Erika Agatha Dirks, great-great granddaughter of Elizabeth wiens and Heinrich Heinrich Dirks. I have traced my family heritage for more than half of my life and growing up my Oma would show me original documents from the travels, such as vessel documents and marriage certificates.Ive always found heritage (ours specifically) very interesting. I am beyond happy to have found this even though I am 12 years late !

  5. Brianne, Welcome to my (very neglected) family website! At first I wasn’t sure how we were related but I did some digging in my gigantic Dirks lineage file, as well as the GRanDMA Online database of Low German genealogy I’m subscribed to, and figured it out. You are descended from my Oma Mary Dirks Janzen’s brother Heinrich, aka Heinz Dirks. They landed on Ellis Island with their parents and a sister in 1923. So you would definitely have the “creds” to join the Rundbrief described above. :) I have your email from approving your comment, so I could go all-out emailing you information, documents, and even sending you my edited version of Oma Mary’s memoir compilation, The Batum Story. However, it seems like I’ve gone all out like that once or twice before with website visitors and maybe scared them off, as I never heard from them again. So let me know your interest level!

  6. Brianne Gorham (martinez)

    I would love any and all information you are willing to share! I also looked at my Ancestry lineage and you are correct! Its amazing how strongly our family lineage has mantained intact. Strangely enough, Im a Psychology major just like Reck. (:

    P.S. You could never scare me away with knowledge (especially regarding our lineage.) It’s beyond a passion of mine(:

Leave a comment